The long (and only) way to make money

What do I mean by long? Is it one day? Is it one year? Is it 10 years? Well, it depends.

We spend the first 18 years (or more) of our lives learning how to survive on our own. Learning how to be a cog in a machine or building our own machine.

But in the last few years, there has been another tide. The tide of 'get rich now'. Do this one thing in 2023 and you'll make a million dollars. I've tried these things. I haven't made the million yet. And I've come to realise that most of this 'clickbait' content is to appeal to our impatience. Why wait? Get that Lamborghini now.

Well, there's a good reason to wait. A really good reason.

Fulfillment. I've met lots of business owners, entrepreneurs and successful people in the last year. A lot of them aren't happy. They made the money doing things they didn't want to do, and they were too afraid to take the risk of doing something on their own.

It's fear that slows us down. It's fear that makes us think 'I don't want to wait 4 years to make money, I want to buy things now…'

The most successful (and happy) business owners I know took an average of 4 years to break-even. They had kids, they had bills, and they had the same challenges you and I have. It's about the same time as a standard university degree. Interesting.

But they did the uncommon thing. They stuck to their course. They didn't get swayed by the new trend on Tik Tok. They didn't buy NFTs, and they didn't stop.

If you think 4 years is a long time —I understand. It feels like a long time to me too. But look back 4 years. How much have you achieved? Look back to when you went to school - did you learn a lot in 4 years? I bet you did.

Start today. Give yourself years, not weeks to make something that the world is waiting for. In the course of your life -it's a short time.

That's it for today.

Harry

P.S. If this made you nod your head, consider sharing with a friend.

Reply

or to participate.