the day you start focusing

I went from being busy all the time to having all the time in the world.

My results increased too. It started after one book. Then I read another.

I couldn't believe how simple it was. I'll tell you everything so you don't have to spend weeks reading. But I will share both books at the end so you can read if you want. It's this - efficacy. Which means you focus on the things that matter. And ONLY things that matter. Everything else is garbage.

Don't confuse this with efficiency to productivity. That's all great, but it's easy to be productive at the wrong things. It takes a little more thinking to be productive at the RIGHT thing.

I'll give you an example. A couple of years ago my workload was immense (I was working in banking), and my days were full of meetings. Most people tried to keep the meetings short, but it wasn't enough. So, I stopped going to 90% of meetings for 6 months. How? By having a well-structured conversation with my bosses and using my secret weapon influence. I escaped the hamster wheel for a while and focused on my team. We still hold all the records. We were the GOATs. No one had ever seen results like that before.

I knew what to focus on and made time for that thing only.

So how can you do this? Zoom out of your body and look at yourself in third person. Become an observer of your own day. What things are you doing that don't add value? What can you cut out? I bet you there's a lot.

There are millions to be made for people who achieve. Not people who try.

If you know what to focus on - go all in. If you don't know yet, here's something you can try. Have a break. Have a Kit Kat (kidding). You know all the self-development fluff on LinkedIn and the Business Reviews telling you to take it easy? To take the weekends off? To stop worrying about work after hours?

They're right. Follow that advice. Not because it's easy, but because it's hard. Here's where the second book comes in, this is what changed the game for me completely.

When you're working on something, you're usually using your conscious brain. You're thinking. Hard. But what if you had another brain to help you? Would you use it? I would, and I do. It's called your subconscious. It's the part of you that comes up with great ideas in the shower, or when you're at the gym. It's that part of you that gives you the 'ah ha' moment when you're about to fall asleep.

All you have to do is give it space.

Picture that famous iceberg image - you can only see a little above the surface and a lot underneath the water. You know the one I'm talking about, right?

Well, the top part if your conscious brain. The bottom line is your subconscious. It controls your breathing, your hearing, and your movement to the beat when you like a song. It's managing everything. It also helps with your problems.

And your biggest problem is to find the right thing to focus on.

What's MOST important? Do ONLY that. Find a way to get rid of all the distractions.

Do the 'hard' thinking.

That's it. You just learned to save yourself some serious time, and get some serious results.

You're welcome.

ONE QUESTION FOR YOU TO ASK YOURSELF

Am I focused on the right thing today?

Harry

P.S. The two books I mentioned? First book: The 4 hour Work Week - Tim Ferris. The second book: The Art of Learning - Josh Waitzkin.

P.S.S. Go forth and focus. If this works for you, consider sharing it with a friend.

Reply

or to participate.