Out of your mind, and into reality

With a simple exercise

Have you heard of Tim Ferris? You probably have. Wait, don't go google him if you haven't heard of him. He's the author of the 4-Hour Work Week, an amazing, life changing book. I'm speaking from experience. I've read it twice now, and it doesn't fail to surprise me with something I can use AGAIN to make my life better.

Welcome to another episode of Harry's Brain. In this episode I want to dissect an exercise that really shifted the dial for me. It's helped me make some really hard decisions. I mean really hard. I quit my job. I've decided to travel for a year (if I can). I got married. It literally shifted the way I think, and I hope it does the same for you.

It's called Fear Setting.

You know about goal setting right? Where you write about what you want to achieve in a document you never look at again. Well, this is similar, but the opposite. Fear setting is thinking about the worst possible outcome in your life, and writing down the consequences.

For example; what would happen if you lost your job? If you crashed your new car? Your relationship broke down?

Chances are, you won't die. You'll have some support groups. You have skills. You won't "lost it all". It's not the end of the world. At least, I hope not. But it feels that way, doesn't it?

There's something about writing something down on a page that reduces its ability to mess with you. Now it's real. You've written it down. It's not going to bounce around in your mind. Like Seneca said we suffer more in our imagination than in reality. Fear setting takes your imagination out of the picture.

For a full detailed explanation on how to do this, watch Tim's Ted Talk. It's only a few minutes long, and it might change your life.

Let me know if you try this and what the impact has been. I hope it helps.

Harry

P.S. Please PLEASE share this with someone if you find it useful. Help a brother out.

Reply

or to participate.