Not another blog on purpose…

It's meant to be the secret recipe for success. The salt on your forearm as you sprinkle it over your life's work. And it's a big deal on the internet. You can't go 5 minutes without coming across a video, or a book, or a podcast dedicated to it.

Purpose.

It's become a big deal. There's so much talk about 'finding your purpose'.

The reason I'm writing about it today is because of this passage in a brilliant book;

"Thought allied fearlessly to purpose becomes creative force: he who knows this is ready to become something higher and stronger than a mere bundle of wavering thoughts and fluctuating sensations; he who does this has become the conscious and intelligent wielded of his mental powers."

That's one argument by James Allen - the man who wrote 'As A Man Thinketh'.

In simple terms - don't be aimless. Have something to work for, or on.

Why? Because without the purpose there is no "intelligent accomplishment". Something I understand as - accomplishment by effort. Not chance.

"Aimlessness is a vice, and such drifting must not continue for him who would steer clear of catastrophe and destruction." He goes on.

Strong opinion.

I agree.

Why?

Well remember what Charlie Munger said ‘I never allow myself to hold an opinion on anything that I don't know the other side's argument better than they do’. Until the stat of this year, I didn’t have a purpose. I was on the other side and argued for the other side - life turned out okay.

Being aimless got me to where I am, which is a great place to be. But what if? What if I took control of the direction and not let the wind carry me? Not let the distractions control me. Not try to fix everything.

Once I found it, it felt like I’d been living with both hands tied behind my back.

So how do you find it?

If you search, you'll find a million videos on YouTube titled 'how to find purpose'. You'll also find may blogs and websites. There are even courses you can do.

Here's my advice: if you reduce the input you take in everyday, you'll find it. For a week, consider stepping away from social media. Away from the big box with a screen in your living room. Away from books, blogs and the internet.

Your mind will drift to the things you love and the things you hate.

Choose something you love. Let your mind drift until you find it. For me it took a lot longer than a week, but I got there. And it feels great.

Harry

P.S. For all my notes on the book - send me an email or subscribe. I'll share everything I learn.

P.S.S. I hope this helps you. Choose to have a great day today.

Reply

or to participate.