how to get your colleagues to lift their weight

Want to win? Be on a better team. Simple, right?

But with colleagues, you can't choose who's on the team. Even when you're a leader you can't always choose who's on your team.

In 2017 I took over a team that had been together for a while. I knew them well, but I didn't know my colleagues and I didn't care about them. That led to my downfall. My contract didn't get extended. Since then, I've worked pretty hard to make sure I'm not making the same mistakes.

Here are things that have worked. Examples from projects that I worked on with my colleagues.

1. Have a visual queue.

We all have computers. We all have fancy digital whiteboards on our screens. They don't work. You've probably used the Kanban method or the Mural boards. The problem with them is that they aren't in your face all the time. You can choose to click the 'x' in the corner and they disappear.

What will help is a physical whiteboard. Find one and put it dead center of where everyone works. On it - have a process timeline. If your project is 3 months long, get everyone together and agree on the actions. Write them up with the deadline - same as you would do virtually.

The only difference is now - when someone walks past the board will keep them accountable. Especially if they're slipping behind.

It's like keeping chocolates on the coffee table. If you keep them in the cupboard, they last a while. If you put them on the coffee table, they last minutes.

2. They will do more if they like you.

Funny how that works. If you're trying to be a dictator you won't get anywhere. Dictators only get somewhere because they have power. You have none over your colleagues. I'd argue you have it over your direct reports either.

No. Instead, they need to be working WITH you. Not FOR you.

Here's a trick that works: sit next to someone you don't have a good relationship with. Do it for a week. Proximity changes everything.

After a heated argument with a colleague, I'd always change my desk so I could sit next to them. They found it odd. But after a few days, we were best buds. I knew about their families, their lives, and what they cared about. And I made sure I shared the same things. I opened up first, and they did the same.

People will tend to trust you if they like you. Even if they know nothing about your work or experience.

You have to become less unknown. Less of a threat.

I've read the famous books and articles on soft skills, and they are helpful.

But this talk is the best resource I've come across over the years. It'll change the way you think. I've listened to it several times over the years.

TODAY's QUESTIONS FOR YOU:

"When was the last time you fixed a broken relationship?

What did you learn?"

Harry

P.S. If you enjoyed this, consider sharing it with a colleague. They might appreciate it too.

Reply

or to participate.