Eat The Compliment

I remember a time when I would correct anyone who complemented me. "Wow, Harry - you've done well in your career" someone would say, and I'd deflect. I'd respond "there's still a lot to do and I've got a lot to learn".

Not only in my career, but in my personal life I've always thought it was better to act humble. It comes from my upbringing. But it's much better to say 'thank you' and accept it.

Eat the compliments. Absorb them.

If someone kept throwing money at you, you'd take it right? It wouldn't feel okay but it'd be nice to have, wouldn't it?

Well, there's something more important that you need to keep in the back of your mind. Energy.

It's not obvious, but everything you learn, unlearn, and do is because of your energy. Find ways to get more. Keep more. Use more. More energy leads to better decisions. Better decisions lead to a better quality of life.

So when someone's giving you a complement - absorb it. Take it and say "thank you". Of if you're feeling up to it "thank you, that's very kind of you".

The first time you do this it'll be hard. But like anything, it becomes easier.

The first "thank you" is the hardest so think of it this way: you're not telling someone they're wrong. You're acknowledging their kind gesture. It'll deepen the conversation and relationship you're building at the same time.

It's a win-win for you both. It takes a little effort from you the first time you do it.

So do it.

The next time someone says, 'nice work', 'cool shirt', 'nice shoes' acknowledge and say 'thank you'. Don't attack the compliment by pretending it's misplaced. Keep it.

Trust me, conversations flow better and best of all, you both feel wonderful. The energy stays.

That's the best thing of all.

That's it for today.

Harry

P.S. If you enjoyed this, consider sharing it with a friend.

Join the conversation

or to participate.