Don't be that guy...

Years ago, before I had a luscious, masculine beard, I started studying at university. Full of hope and wonder and awe, I dived in with open arms. I was young. I was stupid. Maybe I still am. Who knows? Anyway, I remember someone saying to me that a lot of students miss lectures.. And I remember thinking pfft, why would anyone miss lectures? It's so expensive to be here! Plus, the buildings are so cool... I'm not going to miss any. I made a promise myself, and really meant it.

Fast forward a few months and I would only be found playing guitar under a tree in the biggest park on campus. Not in lectures. Why? Because I realised that attending lectures didn't mean I would get a good job or not. That was the only reason I was there, so I could have a job, not because I loved sitting in one place for three hours taking notes. I needed to pass the tests, not attend the lectures.

Despite the thousands of dollars spent on student loans and the years given up, I don't use anything I learned at university in my work. But, that doesn't mean it wasn't useful.

It was a useful lesson. Learn what you need for the things that you want. If you don't know what you want yet (like a lot of us), investigate. Try. Find a new Facebook group. Go to a diving class. Go do hot yoga. It might be your thing.

Yes, trying new things has a cost. Time and money. But imagine living a life where you never found out what you were made for.

Don't be that guy.

Reply

or to participate.