• Execute 🤌
  • Posts
  • Charlie Munger - "I never disagree with someone else's opinion unless I understand their side better than they do"

Charlie Munger - "I never disagree with someone else's opinion unless I understand their side better than they do"

The title of this article hit me. Hard.

Charlie Munger contributed a lot to the world.

And I argue that investing was a small part of it. What he gave us was a framework on 'how to think'.

"I never disagree with someone else's opinion unless I understand their side better than they do". This quote made me realise that I'd been missing the full story.

I've made decisions all my life without taking the time to think about the other side of the coin.

What if?

Here are a few things that apply to both of us:

What’s the reason you support your political party?

What are the reasons for not supporting them? Have you understood the reasons for NOT supporting them? Or have you followed what your family and friends have said?

Why did you choose this career path?

Did you dig into the arguments against it before you made your decision?

This is something I should have done. I chose a career that was pointed out to me, and never thought of reasons why I shouldn't go down that road.

Why did you buy / not buy Bitcoin?

There are strong opinions from smart people on both sides.

All I did was listen to what my friends were doing. It didn’t work out.

It's much easier to be a sheep and let the sheep dogs direct you in life. Until you realise you have your own legs to take you where you want to go. And that may be to a paddock far away.

And that's okay.

I'm sure in your life you have plenty more to think about.

I'll be using this framework for the future, and I hope it helps you make better decisions too.

Thanks, Charlie.

QUESTION FOR YOU TO THINK ABOUT

"What one opinion do I hold true to my heart that I've never considered from the other side?”

Harry

P.S. Remember to have a great day today. If you want to. After you've considered the arguments for having a bad day.

Reply

or to participate.