5 Scientific Truths Behind Excellent Habits

Brace Yourself Here We Go GIF by MOODMAN

“This year… I’m going to the gym at least 3x a week.”

“I’m going to start reading more.”

“I need to launch my own business this year.”

Sound familiar?

How often have you tried to start but not stuck with a habit? How many times have you been hard on yourself for not putting in enough work?

If you’re anything like me…then, very often.

So… here’s something to help change that.

Truth #1

World-class willpower isn't an inborn strength, but a skill developed through relentless practice. Getting up at dawn is perfect self-control training.

Just like learning how to walk, learning how to write, how to read, how to cook – every skill takes practice. And that's totally in your control.

If you care about it enough…make a decision to get started.

"He who sweats most in training, bleeds least in war" – The Spartan Creed

Truth #2

Personal self-discipline is a muscle. The more you stretch it, the stronger it grows. Therefore, the samurais of self-regulation actively create conditions of hardship to build their natural power.

Seneca, a Stoic shared this long ago…

He was one of the wealthiest men of his time, but he would go on fasts, and live in poverty. Tim Ferriss, the author of the 4-Hour Work Week, also has talked about doing this exercise.

"Set aside a certain number of days, during which you shall be content with the scantiest and cheapest fare, with coarse and rough dress, saying to yourself the while: "Is this the condition that I feared?" – Seneca

You realise that what you were afraid of isn't that scary. You won't die. So keep going.

Truth #3

Like other muscles, willpower weakens when tired Recovery is, therefore, absolutely necessary for the expression of mastery. And to manage decision fatigue.

Here, I want to mention sleep.

Dr. Matthew Walker has a great book on the topic – "Why We Sleep". For everyone focused on self-development, I recommend this book. Sleep usually takes the back seat when we're working hard on something we care about. It should be the other way around.

  • Usain Bolt sleeps for 10+ hours.

  • Roger Ferrer aims for 11-12 hours every night.

  • Lionel Messi, over 10 hours.

Funny how these three guys have all been called the 'greatest of all time', when popular wisdom asks you to sacrifice sleep.

Truth #4

Installing any great habit successfully follows a distinct four-part pattern for automation of the routine. Follow it explicitly for lasting results.

Truth #5

Increasing self-control in one area of our life elevates self-control in all areas of your life. This is why joining The 5 AM Club is the game-changing habit that will lift everything else that you do.

You guessed it, these points are from the beautiful book – The 5AM Club.

It's less about waking up in the morning and more about the benefits of hard work, discipline and habit.

The reason I wanted to share these with you today is because when I arrived at this section in the book, it blew my mind.

I had to share it, not only to recommend you read it – but selfishly, so that I remember it better.

And yes, because of this book I've been waking up at 5am for weeks on end.

I've lost count of the days. The only day I missed was Christmas Day. Because Christmas Eve celebrations in a Spanish home go into the night.

I've been wasting less time procrastinating, and focusing more on actions.

For instance, this is day 54 of writing. Important days I didn't take off: Christmas day, and my Wedding day. I made time to write.

Now, don't think I'm an unemployed vagabond. I work in professional services full time. I have a wife and a dog and the standard responsibilities that come with all that. You can connect with me on LinkedIn if you want.

This simple (but not easy) habit from this incredible book has been blowing my mind – and it'll have the same impact on you too.

Have time over the holidays? Read this book. Thank me later.

Harry

P.S.S. Share this with a friend if you find this valuable. They will too.

Reply

or to participate.